Materials Physics Research

Materials Physics Research at Washington University

Materials physics involves studies of the structure and properties of materials, and materials processes, that are of technological and fundamental interest.  Research in the Laboratory for Materials Physics, at Washington University, St. Louis, Missouri, focuses on :
(i) Investigations of the formation and structures of complex stable and metastable phases, including novel phases such as quasicrystals and metallic glasses

(ii) Experimental and theoretical investigations of nucleation processes in condensed systems.

Current research projects are listed below


Materials Physics Research Group Photo Outside of Compton Hall

Outside of Arthur Holly Compton Laboratory of Physics from left to right:
Kenneth Kelton, Liqian Xing, Van T. Huett, Joshia, Pengfei Wei, Patrick Gibbons, and Akito Takasaki
Not Pictured are: Anup Gangopadlhyay, Geun Woo Lee, and Ryan Rochat

Other Group Photos: Photo 1 - Photo 2

Personnel

Professors
Kenneth Kelton - Photo - kfk@wuphys.wustl.edu
Patrick Gibbons - Photo - pcg@wuphys.wuslt.edu

Visiting Professors
Akito Takasaki - Photo- takasaki@sic.shibaura-it.ac.jp

Research Scientists
Anup Gangopadhyay - Photo - anup@wuphys.wustl.edu
Liqian Xing - Photo - lqxing@hbar.wustl.edu

Graduate Research Assistants
Geun Woo Lee - Photo - geunwlee@hbar.wustl.edu
Van T. Huett - Photo - vthuett@artsci.wustl.edu
Pengfei Wei - Photo - wpf@hbar.wustl.edu

Undergraduates
Ryan Rochat - Photo - rhrochat@hotmail.com

Previous Students


Research Projects


Equipment

Preparation
Characterization
Computation

Current Collaborators

Quasicrystals
Natalie Adolphi
nadolphi@knox.edu
NMR Studies of Quasicrystals (with and without hydrogen)
Uwe Köster
koester@Chemietechnik.Uni-Dortmund.DE
Hydrogenation and Crystallization Studies of Zr-Based Metallic Glasses
Robert Leisure
LEISURE@LAMAR.COLOSTATE.EDU
Elastic Constant Measurements of Quasicrystals (with and without hydrogen)
Andrew McDowell
amcdowel@knox.edu
NMR Studies of Quasicrystals (with and without hydrogen)
Anne Sadoc
sadoc@lure.u-psud.fr
EXAFS Studies of Quasicrystals (with and without hydrogen)
Akito Takasaki
takasaki@sic.shibaura-it.ac.jp
Hydrogen Storage in Quasicrystals

 
Undercooling, Physical Property and Structural Studies of TiZrNi Liquids
Dieter Herlach
dieter.herlach@dlr.de
Undercooling of Quasicrystals
Dirk Holland-Moritz
Dirk.Holland-Moritz@dlr.de
Undercooling Studies of rf-Levitated TiZrNi Liquids
Robert Hyers
Robert.Hyers@msfc.nasa.gov
Viscosity and Specific Heat Measurements of Electrostatically Levitated TiZrNi Liquids
Shankar Krishnan
Shankar.Krishnan@kla-tencor.com
Synchrotron X-Ray Structural Studies of TiZrNi Liquids
Mike Robinson
mike.robinson@msfc.nasa.gov
Electrostatic Levitation Studies of TiZrNi Liquids Undercooling and X-ray Structural Studies
Jan Rogers
Jan.Rogers@msfc.nasa.gov
Electrostatic Levitation Studies of TiZrNi Liquids Undercooling and X-ray Structural Studies

 
Nucleation in Glasses
William Buhro
buhro@wuchem.wustl.edu
Heterogeneous nucleation on Nanoparticles of Tailored Structure and Chemistry
Lindsay Greer
alg13@hermes.cam.ac.uk
Modeling of nucleation in condensed systems
Krishna Rajan
rajank@rpi.edu
TEM Investigations of Nucleation in Metallic Glasses

 
Oxygen Precipitation
Robert Falster
rfalster@memc.it
Oxygen Precipitation in CZ-Silicon

Funding Organizations

Air Force Office of Scientific Research Seal
AFOSR - Air Force Office of Scientific Research
Animated NASA logo in which the orbit element circles the word NASA.
NASA -  National Aeronautics and Space Administration
MEMC Technology Is Built On Us
MEMC Electronic Materials, Inc
National Science Foundation
NSF - National Science Foundation

Other Links

Washington University
Washington University Department of Physics
Washington University Main Library
Washington University Physics Library


webpage created by:  Van T. Huett   email: vthuett@artsci.wustl.edu
Last Updated: 11/7/01